Connecting...

Banner Default Image
Mobile Banner Default Image

Blog

Meet the team - Tammii

Posted about 2 months ago

Nna Blog Feature Images  (12)

Tell us a bit about yourself

I was born in Adelaide, South Australia and have resided in the southern suburbs of Adelaide all my life. I am a mother of 2 and enjoy spending my spare time with my children, family and friends, walking along our local beaches and keeping active.

Before joining the team at NNA Direct Support Service I worked as a Local Area Coordinator supporting participants and their families to develop and pursue their goals, exercise choice and control, understand and connect to the NDIS, as well as connecting them to community, mainstream and funded supports.

 

When did you join NNA?

I came onboard with NNA Direct Support Services in January 2021 as the first Customer Engagement Manager in South Australia.

As the Customer Engagement Manager for SA, I aim to exceed customer’s expectations through reliability and delivery of service no less than I would expect for myself. Through actively listening to the participant and their story, I am able to obtain a good understanding of their individual support needs and preferences so that I can connect them to the best and most appropriate fit of support and worker so that they are able to achieve their goals and lead the quality of life they envisage.

 

What do you see as the biggest challenge in the disability sector?

The biggest challenges I see of the disability sector is addressing and filling the current gap between mainstream and funded supports so that participants are not missing out on having their needs met and therefore limiting what they could potentially achieve. The other challenge is in attracting and retaining a workforce across many occupations in the sector due to the high growth and demand for services and supports since the rollout of the NDIS. This results in participants experiencing long waiting lists impacting their opportunity to achieve their goals.

 

What is a little-known fact about yourself?

I have been a vegetarian since I was 13 years old, and I am most recognized for my bright long nails with ever-changing designs. Prior to working in the Disability and Youth Sector, I spent 10 years as a School Photographer where I had the opportunity to travel Australia including remote areas.

 

Quick Round:

  • Biggest pet peeve? Poor Services

  • Favourite place in the world? Thailand

  • Favourite food? Vegetarian Thai Green Curry and Vegetarian Fried Rice with Cashew Nuts

What do you see as the biggest opportunity in the disability support sector?

With the shift of choice and control being given to participants to choose their own providers and supports means that service providers in the sector need to focus on the participant’s and their individual needs and continue to improve reliability, quality, and delivery of service to remain competitive in the market.